Peter Murray, MD

Peter Murray, M.D., is Professor and Chair, Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Mayo Clinic in Florida. He holds a joint appointment with the Department of Neurosurgery, Mayo Clinic in Florida. Dr. Murray specializes in hand surgery and microsurgery, and has special interests in surgical reconstruction of peripheral nerve injuries, including brachial plexus reconstruction. He treats all disorders of the hand and upper limb, including: joint arthroplasty of the hand, wrist and elbow; nonunion of fractures; tumors; complex acute fractures, and free flap surgery for soft tissue defects. In 2016, Dr. Murray was recognized with the “Healthcare Hero Award” by the Jacksonville Business Journal and has received Jacksonville’s “Top Doctor” award numerous times. He earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry and graduated magna cum laude from West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia, where he also completed his Doctor of Medicine degree. While at West Virginia University, he was elected to the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society as an undergraduate and to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society while a medical student, serving as Chapter President. He completed his orthopedic surgery training at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa, followed by a fellowship in hand and microsurgery at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota. Dr. Murray was a Distinguished Graduate of the United States Air Force ROTC program at West Virginia University and served on active duty; rising to the rank of Lt. Colonel. He was deployed in support of the Operation Desert Storm campaign in 1991. He was awarded the USAF Meritorious Service Medal and the USAF Commendation Medal. Dr. Murray has authored more than 120 scientific publications and three books. He has lectured on hand surgery internationally numerous times including: Finland, France, United Kingdom, Portugal, Hungary, Romania, Spain, New Zealand, Greece, Italy, Czech Republic, South Korea, Brazil, Argentina, China, South Africa, Germany, Egypt and Singapore. He has been a visiting professor at the following institutions: West Virginia University, University of Kentucky, Clemson University, University of South Carolina, University of Florida, University of Iowa, Henry Ford Hospital, Orlando Regional Medical Center, University of Utah, University of Michigan, Stoney Brook University Medical Center, State University of New York, Columbia University, Loyola University, University of Cincinnati and University of Pittsburgh. He has served as the Dean for Education at Mayo Clinic in Florida, overseeing the day to day activities of over 200 residents and fellows in 42 programs as well as all medical student and allied health student activities on the Florida campus. In 2014, Dr. Murray was recognized for his work in education with the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award. Dr. Murray is Past President of the American Board of Orthopedic Surgery (ABOS) and is currently a Senior Director for the ABOS. He is a past President of the American Association for Hand Surgery, and currently is chair of the Orthopedic Surgery Residency Review Committee (RRC) for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).